Friday, April 20, 2012

Remove Friends From Your Facebook Restricted List

Remove friends from the Facebook Restricted List.
Facebook's Restricted List feature, which blocks selected people on your friends list from seeing non-public content, seems to be causing some confusion.

We've had a few questions from readers asking if it's possible to remove people from the Facebook Restricted List if you change your mind and want them to see your status, updates and posts again.

The answer is that you can easily remove people from your Facebook Restricted List using the Manage List feature on the Restricted List home page. This restores the person as a "full friend" who will see your content again according to your overall Facebook share preferences.

Follow our easy guide to removing people from your Facebook Restricted List:



Step-by-Step Guide to Removing People From Your Facebook Restricted List

  1. Click the Home button in the top menu bar on any Facebook page while you're logged into Facebook.
  2. Click the gray Friends heading in the left column menu. You may need to click the blue More link to reveal the Friends option.
  3. Scroll to Restricted List on your Friends page and click this option to open the Restricted List home page.
  4. Click on the gray Manage List button in the top right of the page, and then choose Edit List from the pull-down menu.
  5. In the Edit Restricted pane, hover your mouse over the thumbnail picture of each friend that you want to remove from the Restricted List until you see the "x" icon appear in the top right of the image, and then click the "x" to remove them. Click the blue Finish button to complete the procedure.

The friend will now be able to view your status updates, posts, photos and other content on Facebook. Don't forget, you can always hide individual items from them with the inline audience selector tool's Custom option when you post content.


13 comments:

  1. thank you so much for sharing :X

    ReplyDelete
  2. Awesome, thank you!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. i don't have a gray "friends" thing on the left hand column. facebook is getting way too complicated.

    ReplyDelete
  4. If I do this, will all my posts for the past few months now appear on their wall?

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks, that worked perfectly

    ReplyDelete
  6. By putting the friends in the restricted list... can other non-restricted friends be able to view the restricted friends?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, adding a friend to your FB restricted list doesn't change their visibility on your friends list. However, you can change the privacy settings for your friends list by clicking the "Edit" button at the top of your friends page (access this from the Friends pane at the top of your Timeline) and choosing your preferred privacy setting with the audience selector tool.

      Delete
  7. Thank you for sharing this. Even thought FB has been updated a bit since your original post, I was still able to finally remove someone from my Restricted list. There is nada on the FB site explaining this. Much appreciated.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I followed the instructions on the removing someone from the restricted list, however when I got to the 5th step of clicking on the thumbnail to remove them, it simply went to their profile. I'm at a loss here.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi, I've revised the fifth step slightly as FB has tinkered with this procedure. Follow the updated instructions and it should work for you.

      Delete
  9. That really helped. Thanks

    ReplyDelete
  10. I can find how to do this under a friends name I pick.MY QUESTION I HAVE IS HOW do I find a list of names I have in the restriced group? ? If I'm not sure who I have put in any group, I would like to find a list without clicking on each name.THANK YOU

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Click "Friends" in the left menu (select "More") if you can't see this. Select "Restricted" in the list on the main page, then look at "On this list" in the top right corner. Under this heading is a list of the names in the Restricted group.

      Delete